MH-Z16 CO2 sensor support in mycodo

I’m following your mushroom cultivation controller guide, but somehow ended up with a MH-Z16 (with I2C/UART interface board from here) instead of the suggested MH-Z19b.

Reading the datasheet, it seems this probe comes with automatic baseline correction, which is not appropriate for use in a fruiting chamber with consistently elevated CO2 levels. And to avoid this, they say to turn the probe off at least once in every 24h period, which apparently can be done via the I2C interface?
(note I’m very new to electronics- so could easily be missing something obvious!)

My question is how (if at all) is this power cycle handled in mycodo? I don’t see anything in the MH-Z16 input configuration. Nor is there an output that jumps out at me as something I could trigger on a timer. Any suggestions appreciated!

1 Like

Hi. You would need to develop your own power circuit if you wanted to turn the sensor’s power on and off. However, the issue is you will need to expose the sensor to fresh air (~400 ppmv CO2) for ABC to operate correctly, if I’m not mistaken. The only easy solution I can see to doing this automatically is if you keep your sensor in a small sampling chamber and have two air pumps connected: one to draw in air from wherever you want to sample the CO2 from, and one that draws in atmospheric air that has a CO2 concentration ~400 ppmv. You would draw air to sample, acquire a measurement, then draw in fresh air to bring the sensor’s environment back to ~400 ppmv so the ABC can operate.