Control light & fans with same PCB?

Hello DIY friends,

I am not an electrical engineer so I do not understand much about and it lacks on the basics. I’m running mycodo pretty long it is working stable. Thank you Kyle!

Now to my question. I have 3 different PCB’s for 3 different PWM scenarios (Meanwell LED Driver, Duct Fan, PC Fan). From what I understood this is because e.g. Meanwell brings it’s own voltage on the Dim+ lane. The 2 fans I have not. Because of that I tried find a workaround by using a 0-10V converter. But this somehow is not fully controlling the devices from 0-100%.

Can anybody of you clever minds help me out and knows a PWM converter standard for every light/fan scenario in the world that allows full 0-100% control from 3.3v Raspberry or is this simply physically not possible?
Because some supplier use different electrical designs?

Thank you in advance! You would help me a lot I am just not getting the solution with my own research.

Regards
OjunbamO

Lights and fans usually use different PWM frequencies and different operating voltages.

Computer fans usually use 12v - this may be one reason why you are not getting 100% from your 10v converter. Also, 4-wire computer fans have their own PWM controller built-in, so you don’t need this converter board.

Duct fans can use many different voltages and different kinds of motors. The DC ones I’ve seen can use 10, 12, 24, and even 48 v DC. So again, if your duct fan needs more than 10v, you will never get 100% speed from it by powering it with a 10v converter. Also, a lot of duct fans run on AC, not DC, and you can not use PWM to control AC power at all. There are also EC type motors, those usually come with their own speed controller. Do you know what kind of motor your duct fan has and what voltage it needs?

Where is that 10v PWM converter getting it’s power from? What kind of power supply are you feeding it voltage from? How many volts? How many Amps?